Reservation | Tel.  +41 33 822 86 89

OUR CUISINE: PAYS HOMAGE TO THE ALPINE CLASSICS

We like to keep things fresh and uncomplicated in the Stadthaus. Seasonal and regional products play a big part the kitchen’s timetable. From our sausages ( in a class of their own) to our rotisserie to the evergreens : our starting point is the culinary heritage of the Alps. We like down-to-earth Swiss dishes, sometimes combined with ideas from all over the world, but we pass on any kind of gimmick.

The Restaurant Stadthaus is the place to come to at any time of the day: for your coffee break, lunch (menus from 19.- including a soft drink), an after-work beer or dinner. We are open seven days a week, from 9.00 to 24.00 hours.

Our unique history and position in the centre of things gives our establishment its special atmosphere, a mixture of village pub and trendy restaurant.

WINE: CRISS-CROSSING SWITZERLAND

Like our dishes and beer, our wine card takes you on a tour through Switzerland. The variety of Swiss wine is surprising and some wines in particular really took our fancy. They are all represented on the Stadthaus wine menu, from classics like our «Stadthaus rot», a Merlot from Ticino, to its white counterpart («Stadthaus weiss», Riesling Sylvaner from the east of Switzerland) to a few genuine lucky finds such as “Gantenbein und Co.”
Various wines are available as open wine and every month there is a new discovery to be made – our wine of the month.

HISTORY: FAMOUS STADTHAUS VISITORS

Over the centuries the Stadthaus was a hub for public life in Unterseen and the surrounding area. It was a shop, it held the assizes, was a meeting place for politicians and also an inn. The first tourists who came to the Bernese Oberland stopped here. Probably the most famous guest in the large house in the middle of the square was the writer and poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. On his Swiss trip in October 1779 he stopped off at the Stadthaus. At the time of the first Unspunnen festivals in 1805 and 1808 many guests came to see Elisabeth Grossmann, the “lovely boatwoman of Brienz”, who had married the son of the innkeeper.

In August 1831 another famous person appeared : Felix Mendelssohn. The composer had a particular fondness for the region and was a guest in the Stadthaus many times. What is the reason why Unterseen has a town hall (and Interlaken on the other side of the Aare does not) and as a consequence is a town, it is best to ask a regular. That’s another story …..

RESTAURANT STADTHAUS
Untere Gasse 2, 3800 Unterseen
Telephone 033 822 86 89, info@restaurantstadthaus.ch
www.restaurantstadthaus.ch

see what people are saying about us on:

Tischreservierung | Tel.  +41 33 822 86 89

KÜCHE: HOMMAGE AN DIE ALPENKLASSIKER

Im Stadthaus mögen wir es frisch und unkompliziert. Saisonale und regionale Produkte bestimmen den Fahrplan der Küche. Von den Würsten (eine Wissenschaft für sich) über die Rôtisserie bis zu den Evergreens: Unsere Basis ist das kulinarische Erbe der Alpen. Wir lieben bodenständige Schweizer Gerichte, kreuzen sie hier und dort mit Ideen aus aller Welt, verzichten aber auf jeglichen Schnickschnack.

Das Restaurant Stadthaus ist zu jeder Zeit am Tag eine gute Adresse: für Kaffeepausen, Mittagessen (Menus zu 19.50 Chf inklusive Mineral), Feierabendbier oder Abendessen. Das Stadthaus steht sieben Tage die Woche offen, immer von 9.00 bis 24.00 Uhr.

Die spezielle Geschichte und die Lage mitten im Ort verleihen dem Lokal eine spezielle Atmosphäre, ein urtümlicher Mix aus Dorfbeiz und Trendschuppen.

WEIN: KREUZ UND QUER DURCH DIE SCHWEIZ

In unserer Weinkarte tauchen Sie ein in die Welt der Schweizer Weine. Sie finden Raritäten, alte Trendsetter und grosse Tropfen. Unser Herz schlägt auch für kleine Weingüter im Familienbesitz, Weine welche darauf warten von Ihnen entdeckt zu werden.

Gerne lassen wir Sie durch unsere Weinauswahl stöbern, oder wir beraten Sie bei der Auswahl. Ob fruchtig und kräftig, elegant und harmonisch oder komplex und würzig. Sie werden bestimmt einen wunderbaren Tropfen finden.

Auf Ihr Wohl

Euer Stadthaus Team

GESCHICHTE: PROMIS IM STADTHAUS

Das Stadthaus war über die Jahrhunderte Dreh- und Angelpunkt des öffentlichen Lebens in Unterseen und Umgebung. Es war Kaufhaus, Gerichtsort und politischer Tagungsort, immer aber auch ein Gasthaus. Die ersten Touristen, die überhaupt ins Berner Oberland kamen, kehrten hier ein. Wohl der berühmteste Gast im grossen Haus mitten auf dem Platz war der Dichter Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. Er stieg auf seiner Schweizerreise im Oktober 1779 im Stadthaus ab. Zur Zeit der ersten Unspunnenfeste 1805 und 1808 dürfte manch ein Gast wegen Elisabeth Grossmann, der «schönen Schifferin von Brienz», zu Besuch gekommen sein. Sie hatte den Sohn des Wirtes geheiratet.

Im August 1831 tauchte eine weitere berühmte Person auf: Felix Mendelssohn. Der Komponist hatte eine besondere Vorliebe zur Region und war mehrmals im Stadthaus zu Gast. Weshalb Unterseen ganz im Gegensatz zu Interlaken auf der anderen Seite der Aare ein Stadthaus hat und folglich auch eine Stadt ist, fragen Sie am besten jemanden, der nach einem Stammgast aussieht. Das ist eine Geschichte für sich…

RESTAURANT STADTHAUS
Untere Gasse 2, 3800 Unterseen
Telefon 033 822 86 89, info@restaurantstadthaus.ch
www.restaurantstadthaus.ch

see what people are saying about us on:

Besuchen Sie uns auf: